The Teide Trophy was born in 1971, thanks to a group of football fans from the La Orotava Valley. This Tournament has become a benchmark of the summer tournaments held in the National territory, being the fourth oldest one. It is a summer football competition held at the los Cuartos Municipal Stadium; the championship is celebrated during the first days of the month of August and it is considered one of the most important and prestigious summer tournaments, with 45 editions.